Finding my Niche

“A situation or activity specially suited to a person’s interests, abilities, or nature: found her niche in life”.
I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately.  Should I be focusing in on one style of painting, combine the ones that I know or try something altogether new?   Since taking up oils and learning a bit more about impressionist, verses realist painting,  I’m not sure what ‘style’ is me. My niche. Who’s to say we have to find one? I have several blank canvases in waiting. I’m never sure what medium I’m going to use or what I will paint. Ah, the artistic mind. If you have found your niche, what is yours and once found what impact did it make on your success as an artist?

Share your thoughts.

About Lisa's Palette

"My paintings are often admired for their realistic qualities through the use of light, shadow and colour. Capturing the beauty within the rustic landscapes of my entitled series, 'Farms of Simcoe County,' has become my passion. Keeping my camera close at hand allows me to capture the images as I come across them, while I use my artistic gifts to seek out particular points of interests in these images. Painting on location brings a connection to the subject, through not only sight, but sound and smell as well. My goal is to produce paintings that give the viewer a sense of calmness and relaxation.”
This entry was posted in Barrie Art Club, Classes, Decorative Painting, Fine Art in Oils & Acrylics, Inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding my Niche

  1. Karen says:

    Love your website and your blog…very inspiring. For me, my niche in art is the form of a dog and creating balance and symmetry with a pair of scissors. I love the creative aspect of dog grooming…it’s art that gives you kisses. 🙂

Leave a Reply

